Thursday, January 23, 2014

ICC CWCQ New Zealand 2014 to be streamed live on ICC website

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced the live-streaming schedule for the ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier New Zealand 2014 (CWCQ). For the first time ever, CWCQ matches will be streamed live on the ICC’s official website,

The tenth edition of the CWCQ is being staged across seven venues from 13 January to 1 February. It will see four matches (listed below) streamed live at from the Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Lincoln, allowing cricket fans across the globe to follow the live action from the business end of the tournament, as it unfolds in New Zealand.

Ultra Motion cameras will be deployed for the first time ever in an ICC qualifier tournament. The high quality coverage will be conducted using nine high definition cameras and a full broadcast graphics package. Live online polls and social media initiatives will also be run during the broadcast and fans will be encouraged to join the conversation by using the official hashtag #CWC15.

This continues the support the ICC has shown for the development of events featuring Associate and Affiliate members. A total of 34 matches were streamed live by the ICC in 2013, these included matches from the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Championship 2013, ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier UAE 2013, ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier Ireland 2013 and the ICC Intercontinental Cup Final 2013.

The live-streaming of CWCQ matches continues the ICC’s efforts to highlight cricket outside the traditional Test-playing countries; and, is aligned with the ICC’s Strategic Plan, of creating a Bigger, Better Global Game.

Among the four matches that will be streamed live at the CWCQ is the final. The two teams that feature in it will qualify for the ICC’s flagship event, the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 (ICC CWC) which will be staged in Australia and New Zealand from 14 February to 29 March.          

The side that wins the CWCQ final will join Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka in Pool A of the ICC CWC 2015, while the runner-up will team up with India, Ireland, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies and Zimbabwe in Pool B.

Notes to Editors:

The live-streamed matches are:
Date and time Match
26 Jan 2014 (1030 NZDT) Scotland v Namibia, Match 25, Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln
28 Jan 2014 (1030 NZDT) PNG v Scotland , Match 30, Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln
30 Jan 2014 (1030 NZDT)  PNG v Hong Kong, Match 33, Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln
 1 Feb 2014 (1030 NZDT) TBD v TBD, Final, Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln

Viewers in Southern and Sub-Saharan Africa can also visit to watch the live coverage.